Deep Brain Stimulation

 

 

 

Artistic Director:

Andreas Liebmann

 

Performance:

Isabella Kammerer, Stephanie Ringwald, Ben Reich, Charlotte Schäfer, Isabella Waizinger, Luisa Wirth

 

Dramaturgy:

Viola Hasselberg

 

Ethical xxpertise:

Joachim Boldt

 

Medical Expertise:

Prof. Dr. Nikkah, Dr. Pinsker

 

Theater for the brain!

 

Created as part of the theatrical and scientific youth symposium “PIMP YOUR BRAIN” at the Theater Freiburg

April 2009

 

Revived at the Science Days at Europapark Rust in October 2009

 

Does an electrode in your brain have the same quality as an artificial hip joint? How does it feel to live with electrodes implanted in your brain, influencing your ability to move, but also your emotionality? How would it be to be able to assume any mood at the push of a button? And who would be the feeling entity then: the machine or me?

 

For several months, the group involved with Deep Brain Stimulation studied the procedure of the same name, a method to treat severe Parkinson’s disease, but increasingly also other disorders like incurable depression, obsessive-compulsive disorders or other illnesses originating in the brain. We interviewed doctors at the internationally renowned neurosurgical department of the University Hospital in Freiburg, but also patients before and after the operation as well as brain specialists; we even attended an actual operation. There, electrodes are implanted into the brain in order to stimulate individual areas. This improves movement disorders in Parkinson’s patients. However, during the 1960s and 70s, the technology was also used in animal experiments in order to manipulate social behavior, emotions and movements in animals, and partially also in human beings – with ambiguous, but impressive results. (After mounting criticism, this research was terminated.) Emotion at the push of a button? Improved memory via battery? One “positive” side-effect for stimulated Parkinson’s patients is the occasional improvement of memory. Could this be a pathway towards a new technology to improve human beings?

 

All the doctors we spoke to rejected the use of this technology for optimization purposes. But where is the borderline between reducing suffering and improving “naturally given” characteristics? We found a report from a researcher at Oxford University about a case where a woman had deep brain stimulation electrodes implanted in order to help her sexual problems. This woman, however, had the devices removed again. Why? Her elevated sexual activity that followed bothered her.

Still, from our perspective it is easy to imagine that deep brain stimulation could be used in the future in order to optimize people. “Whatever can be done, will be done,” is a phrase that we encountered several times during our research. Is there a limit at which we should accept our weaknesses, our mortality, our pain, in order to preserve a “human” element, or could it be reasonable to try and create more equal opportunities by using deep brain stimulation to improve learning disabilities, or to equip fighter pilots with technologies that sharpen their concentration? Is it time to discard the romantic ideal of man as a flawed being? Why should we not want to improve the brain mechanically, if we also use pacemakers in cardiology?

 

Our workshop performance uses redacted material from interviews with those who have undergone deep brain stimulation, its apologists and skeptics. We describe side-effects and simulate happiness at the push of a button. What would 17-year-old students try to improve about themselves if they had access to deep brain stimulation?

Speechlessness at the push of a button

 

HOME

Deep Brain Stimulation

 

 

 

Künstlerische Leitung:

Andreas Liebmann

 

Performance:

Isabella Kammerer, Stephanie Ringwald, Ben Reich, Charlotte Schäfer, Isabella Waizinger, Luisa Wirth

 

Dramaturgie:

Viola Hasselberg

 

Ethische Expertise:

Joachim Boldt

 

Medizinische Expertise:

Prof. Dr. Nikkah, Dr. Pinsker

 

Theater fürs Hirn!

 

Entstanden im Rahmen des theatral-wissenschaftlichen Jugendkongresses "PIMP YOUR BRAIN" am Theater Freiburg

im April 2009

 

Wiederaufnahme anlässlich der Science Days im Oktober 2009 im Europapark Rust

 

Sprachlosigkeit auf Knopfduck

Ist eine Elektrode im Hirn qualitativ dasselbe wie ein künstliches Hüftgelenk? Wie fühlt es sich an, mit implantierten Elektroden im Hirn zu leben, die die eigene Motorik, aber auch die Emotionalität beeinflussen? Wie wäre es, sich auf Knopfdruck in jede gewünschte Stimmung zu versetzen? Wer ist es, der dann fühlt: Die Maschine, oder ich?

 

Die Gruppe um "Deep Brain Stimulation" beschäftigte sich mehrere Monate mit Tiefenhirnstimulation, einem Verfahren, mit dem schwerer Parkinson, aber auch zunehmend ansonsten unheilbare Depression, Zwangsstörungen und andere Krankheiten mit Ursprung im Gehirn behandelt werden.  Wir führten Interviews mit Ärzten der international renommierten neurochirurgischen Abteilung der Universitätsklinik Freiburg, mit Patienten vor und nach der Operation, mit Hirnspezialisten, und waren an einer Operation zugegen. Hier werden Elektroden ins Hirn implantiert und stimulieren einzelne Areale. So werden Bewegungsstörungen bei Parkinsonkranken  verbessert. In Tierversuchen wurde die Technik in den 60ern und 70ern aber auch angewandt, um soziales Verhalten, Emotionen und Bewegungen bei Tieren und teilweise bei Menschen zu manipulieren - mit zwiespältigen, aber dennoch eindrücklichen Ergebnissen. (Nach zunehmender Kritik wurde diese Forschung eingestellt).  Emotion auf Knopfdruck?  Gedächtnissteigerung per Batterie? Als "positive" Nebenwirkung bei stimulierten Parkinsonpatienten tritt vereinzelt ein verbessertes Gedächtnis auf. Könnte das den Weg weisen in eine neue Technik zur Verbesserung des Menschen?

 

Alle Ärzte, mit denen wir sprachen, lehnen einen Einsatz zur Optimierung ab. Wo aber liegt die Grenze zwischen Leidensverminderung und Verbesserung "naturgegebener" Eigenschaften? Wir fanden einen Bericht eines Forschers an der Oxford Universität, in dem einer Frau Tiefenhirnstimulation eingesetzt wurde, um ihre sexuellen Probleme zu beheben. Die Frau liess das Gerät aber wieder entfernen. Warum? Ihre darauf folgende hohe sexuelle Aktivität belästigte sie.

Dennoch ist  es aus unserere Sicht durchaus vorstellbar, dass Tiefenhirnstimulation in Zukunft gezielt zur Optimierung eingesetzt wird. "Was machbar ist, wird gemacht", lautet ein Satz, der uns in unserer Recherche mehrfach begegnete.  Gibt es eine Grenze, an der wir unsere Schwächen, unsere Sterblichkeit, unseren Schmerz akzeptieren sollten, zugunsten einer Bewahrung des "menschlichen",  oder könnte der Versuch Sinn machen, zur Herstellung einer grösseren Chancengleichheit  Lernbehinderungen per Tiefenhirnstimulation zu verbessern, und Kampfpiloten mit Technik auszustatten, die ihre Konzentration schärft? Hat das romantische Ideal des Menschen als Mängelwesen ausgedient? Warum sollte man das Hirn nicht maschinell verbessern wollen, wenn wir doch auch Herzschrittmacher benutzen?

 

In unserer Werkstattperformance verwenden wir bearbeitetes Interviewmaterial von Tiefenhirnstimulierten, Apologeten und Skeptikern. Wir beschreiben Nebenwirkungen, simulieren Glück auf Knopfdruck. Was würden 17jährige Schüler mit Tiefenhirnstimulation an sich verbessern?

HOME